21 Drinking Age? How is that Logical?

Standard

I have a question. Shouldn’t we be thinking about giving people rights before we start taking more away? The reason I ask this is because they’re discussing raising the drinking age again. They think it might help curb alcohol-related violence and whatnot. As though people who break the law whilst drinking legally are going to stop drinking because it will be illegal. Yeah… Could someone please explain the logic in that? And even more stupid – they think raising the drinking age will help stop under-age drinking.

*blink*
*glances around*
*blink*
*raises eyebrow*
*blink*

Yeah… Doesn’t that seem a bit… pointless? I mean, people who already drink before they’re 18 aren’t exactly going to stop if the drinking age gets raised to 21. I mean, come on! Does this really seem like a realistic thing for a 15 year old to say to you? “Oh no, I’m now six years under the drinking age, instead of three! I guess I better stop drinking illegally. That’s just too illegal for me.” No. It’s not. And if you do know someone who talks like that, please tell them to crawl back into the cartoon they came from. Under-age drinking is lame. I waited until I was 18 to go out and get drunk. It makes the whole ‘turning 18’ thing worthwhile. I mean, it’s not really a milestone if nothing changes, is it?

The only thing raising the drinking age would do is punish good people. Good people like me, who wait until they’re of age before they start drinking. Good people like me, who get drunk legally. Good people like me, who don’t drink and drive (and still won’t even when they actually have a license to drive with). Good people like me, who don’t assault people. Those ‘bad’ people who do do those things? Yeah, clearly they’re still gonna do ’em.

One response »

Leave a Reply

