Analogy Girl

Standard

I have recently come to the realisation that I like analogies too much. Well, not too much. People can never like analogies too much. But I do like them a lot, and it might be weird.

I don’t like tofu. I don’t like the taste, and I don’t like the texture. I once described the texture of tofu as “it wants to be a cloud, but ends up being a pillow”. Does that make sense to you? It doesn’t make sense to anyone I tell it to. It makes sense to me, though. What I meant by it, was that tofu tries to be light and fluffy and melt-in-your-mouth-like like a cloud, but ends if being an enclosed softness like a pillow.

And this is what I had to say about people getting teased because of their names – “People don’t tease names alone – the only reason names get teased is because they’re something *to* tease. Think of it as someone shooting something with an arrow – they’re going to shoot it anyway, but there’s a target on the name, so they shoot the name specifically.”. That wasn’t even a full analogy. I really only analogied (is that even a word?) half of it. But I’ll still count it.

I like analogies so much that I even dream of them. I once dreamt that aliens took over the world, and I was part of a resistance (it was a pretty epic dream). And when I killed one of the aliens, I said “You know what happens when you mow a lawn? The grass grows back. And sometimes weeds sprout.”. I was so proud of my dream-self for that. Obviously I had to write it down as soon as I woke up! XD

I think it would be a bad idea for me to ever get famous. I would say all these analogies in interviews, and half of them wouldn’t even make any sense, and then people would start calling me Analogy Girl. That could totally be my superhero name! Analogy Girl. My superpower would be confusing people into insanity with analogies. Heh. Heh.

And I love Britta’s analogy analogy – “It’s like a thought with another thought’s hat on”. Sometimes her analogies are crazy confusing, but that one is just plain awesome!

Leave a Reply

