Christmas Day

Standard

Twas Christmas today. Obviously. Christmas at my house means lots of presents, followed by nanny and uncle Rodney coming over for lunch, followed by more presents. I got some fair awesome presents this year. I’ll try and sort them into who gave them to me:

  • Mum
    • Chucks
    • Super Scribblenauts (DS)
    • Masquerade mask
    • Trolli stocking
    • Eragon (Christopher Paolini)
    • Scratchies
    • Pins
    • Voodoo doll keyring
    • Super Mario chess
    • Bloodlines (Richelle Mead)
    • 10 Short Stories You Must Read In 2011
    • Computer headset
    • Maxi dress
    • Superman undies
    • Necklace
  • Tara
    • Photo frames
    • The Girl in the Steel Corset (Kady Cross)
    • Earrings
    • Twilight Scene It (joke present)
    • Highlighters
    • Pokemon Mystery Dungeon – Explorers of Time (DS)
    • Bracelets
  • Nan
    • Chucks
    • $50
    • Beauty set
  • Dad
    • Photo frame
    • Hot chocolate set
    • Favourites
  • Omi
    • Scarf
    • Necklace
  • Carly
    • Big hot pink headphones
  • Grace
    • Gem necklace

That’s all I can remember at the moment. I know I’ve forgotten some things, but I’ve managed to put down most of them. Thanks everyone for the gifts, I love all my pressies!

Just after nan and Rod got here, Tara took me to Carly’s house so I could drop off her present. I got her Seven Brides for Seven Brothers and Mamma Mia! on DVD. It took me bloody ages to find Seven Brides for Seven Brothers! It probably had something to do with the fact that I left it ’til Christmas-eve-eve to buy it. I finally found it yesterday, after phoning all the JB’s nearby. Manny was at Carly’s when we stopped by. Tara says he’s a lot louder than she predicted.

At my place, we always have a really nice Christmas lunch. We have roast chicken, beef and veggies with gravy, and eat the leftovers for tea, along with salad and other random meats. We also had a really nice cheese platter, with a bunch of different cheeses, and I must say, I heart smoked cheese and peppercorn cheese! And we always pull bonbons too, but this year I got majorly jibbed! The first bonbon I pulled, I won the bigger side, but there was absolutely nothing inside. Not even a hat. Sad face.

The hail came after lunch. Tara had left to visit her boyfriend’s nanna at the hospital, as she is very sick. We heard the hail battering down as we played Trivial Pursuit. It was incredibly loud! We looked out the window and saw hailstones, that were literally the size of golf-balls (some even bigger), covering our lawn. Mum kept some of the hailstones and put them in our freezer. They’re enormous! Understandably, nan was worried about her car out in the street, but luckily we convinced her not to go out and move it. And of course, we were worried about Tara. We didn’t know if she had arrived at the hospital yet or not, so for all we knew, she was out driving in the blasted hailstorm. Finally we got in touch though, and she was safe, thank goodness. Once the hail was over, there was a huge generic storm. But it bloody poured. Our backyard is now flooded, as well as part of our shed. But we’re lucky compared to some people. One family we know had their entire upstairs flooded (we assume the rain got in through their roof). But the storms are expected to continue, and a tornado is predicted to hit some towns, including Lilydale. So I really hope Tiernan will be alright.

Well, Merry Christmas everyone! Or should I say, merry happy! As an ending note, I will leave you with some Christmas quotes (or Christmas-related quotes) said by my family:

Mum: “I think the worst day to have Christmas is a Wednesday.”
Me: “But isn’t Christmas always on a Sunday?”
Mum: “No, Christmas is always on December 25th…”

Tara: “Why is it lukewarm? Why isn’t it johnwarm, or stevewarm?”

Me: “Moths are disgusting! They’re like hobos of the bug-world.”

**********

This year was also the first year we spent Christmas without my poppy, as he sadly passed away at the beginning of the year. Rest in peace poppy! I love you and miss you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

