Imitation is the Highest Form of Flattery

Standard

A few weeks ago I decided to help out a fellow blogger with deciding on a name and caption for her blog. I advised her to be herself, and use something that shows off who she is. I won’t reveal who this blogger is, but for the sake of this post, she will be known as Alice. I gave Alice a link to my own blog, to show her how my title, and everything else on my blog, just emphasises how weird I am. It ended up helping her out, perhaps a bit too much, and once she’d gotten her blog started, she sent me a link to it. So imagine my surprise when I saw that, for her about page, instead of putting something witty that emphasised herself, she had put down something that emphasised me.

Here is a paragraph copied from my own About page:
Rantings of the Ninja Robot is a blog for all my random rantings. They generally involve things like racism, music, politics, and other random topics, often controversial. I apologise if I offend anyone in any of my posts – this is not my intention, and if you do get offended, then I advise you to piss off.  I also blog about my random ponderings, and sometimes my personal dilemmas. Read what you will, and hopefully I make you laugh, or think, or do something other than be bored!

And here is one copied from Alice’s:
********************* is my blog for ranting, obsessions, daily blogs, favourite youtube vids,
They generally involve things like racism, music, pet hates, and other random topics, often controversial. I apologise if I offend anyone in any of my posts – this is not my intention, and if you do get offended, then I advise you to piss off.  I also blog about my random ponderings, and sometimes my personal dilemmas. Read what you will, and hopefully I make you laugh, or think, or do something other than be bored!

But I suppose, as they say, “imitation is the highest form of flattery”.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the reminder to update my ‘about me’ section, when I first joined I noticed you had the basis of what I had planned to write, but thanks for the reminder to update my about me, I am not sure if you are aware but most people have very similar ‘About me’,

    Thanks, have a nice day :).

Leave a Reply

